Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Three new recipients of honorary doctorates at Sahlgrenska Academy

News: May 12, 2015

The three new recipients of honorary doctorates at Sahlgrenska Academy are an activist scientist in southern Africa, a world renowned expert in periodontology and a top international clinical researcher.

Sahlgrenska Academy, University of Gothenburg, has awarded three new honorary doctorates for 2015.

Professor Sharon Fonn is a Professor of Public Health at the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa. Born in 1958, she initiated a project that supports postgraduate studies in southern Africa and affords faculty members from Sahlgrenska Academy a prominent role. Professor Fonn is intentionally recognized for her research on the public healthcare system, specializing in prenatal care, HIV and chronic diseases.

Professor Mariano Sanz is a Professor of Periodontology and Dean of the Faculty of Odontology at University Complutense of Madrid, Spain. Born in 1958, he has published more than 200 scientific articles and book chapters and is one of the most popular international lecturers on odontology. Professor Sanz's longstanding collaboration with researchers at Sahlgrenska Academy has had a major impact on advances in knowledge about healing processes after tooth extraction.

Professor Salim Yusuf is a Professor of Medicine at the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Born in 1952, he is the President of the World Heart Federation and has directed a number of international studies. Professor Yusuf has long collaborated with the University of Gothenburg and has made vital contributions to Swedish research, particularly in connection with a number of large studies concerning cardiovascular disease in low and middle income countries.

Honorary doctorates are awarded to those who have played a key role in research or education at Sahlgrenska Academy or who have otherwise promoted progress in the fields that it addresses. The honorary doctorates will be conferred at a ceremony on October 16.

Photo of Sharon Fonn: University of Witwatersrand. Photo Mariano Sanz: Osteology Foundation. Photo Salim Yusuf: McMaster University

If you have any questions about this year's honorary doctorates, you are welcome to contact:
Eric Hanse, Pro-Dean, Sahlgrenska Academy, University of Gothenburg
+46 31-7863510
eric.hanse @physiol.gu.se



Page Manager: Pontus Sundén|Last update: 8/8/2018

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?